Today, at COP28, several of the G7 countries within the CETP responded to the G7 commitment from the Climate, Energy and Environment Ministers’ meeting in Sapporo in April 2023.

At that meeting, Ministers confirmed that G7 countries had ended new direct public support for the international unabated fossil fuel energy sector in 2022, except in limited circumstances defined by each country, consistent with a 1.5°C warming limit.

The G7 countries undertook to “each provide an update on our approach to implementation by the end of 2023.”

In response, the UK, France, Canada, Italy and Germany have published the following summaries of their respective approaches. The US will publish additional information on policies and exceptions in due course.

Country Summaries





United Kingdom  

The CETP would like to note that the templates originate from work undertaken in the Export Finance for Future coalition (E3F), who reserve the right to change future phase-out templates for signatories of E3F.

Within the E3F group, phase-out policies are linked to a transaction transparency report produced by the E3F to ensure follow up on implementation. This can be found here: